John B. Selhorst, M.D.

John B. Selhorst, M.D. John B. Selhorst, M.D.
Sylvia N. Souers Professor
Professor Emeritus
Department of Neurology

1438 S. Grand Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63104
(314) 977-4866

Dr. Selhorst graduated from the School of Medicine at Saint Louis University in 1967 where he remained for two years in internal medicine. He then undertook a neurology residency at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio. Subsequently, he served in the US Navy at the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, MD. In 1974, he pursued a yearlong fellowship in neuro-ophthalmology at the University of California, San Francisco. Ten years followed at the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond, VA during which he rose from an assistant to full professor of neurology and acting chair of the department.

In 1985, Dr. Selhorst returned to Saint Louis University as chairman of the Department of Neurology. During his 22-year leadership the number of faculty doubled, clinical services expanded, and the residency program flourished. Emphasis was placed on the development of neurological subspecialties that was furthered by a generous endowment to the stroke program. Faculty were recognized locally and nationally, and the residency program became exceptionally proficient in graduating well-trained neurologists.

Dr. Selhorst has lectured and published extensively throughout his academic career on topics both in neurology and neuro-ophthalmology. His chief interests have been in the field of vascular disorders of the eye and brain, eye movement disorders, multiple sclerosis and general neurology. Dr. Selhorst has received numerous teaching awards from medical students and residents in both neurology and ophthalmology. In 1998, he was named the inaugural holder of the endowed Sylvia N. Souers Chair. Because of his training in neuro-ophthalmology, Dr. Selhorst has long held a dual appointment in the Department of Ophthalmology, and has twice served as its interim chairman. He has also held leadership positions on numerous committees of the American Neurological Association, American Academy of Neurology, Association of University Professors of Neurology and North Ameridcan Neuro-Ophthamology Society (NANOS). He is a past president of the St. Louis Society of Neurological Science and NANOS. In 2007, both NANOS and the Department of Ophthalmology presented him with Distinguished Service Awards.

Dr. Selhorst sees patients at the Doctors Office Building and the Anheuser-Busch Institute. Dr. Selhorst can be reached by email at: selhorjb@SLU.EDU.